On Thursday, May 15th in La Maison des Musiques (Rue Lebeau 39, 1000 Brussels) Nao and Dejana will present their "Sound Stories", violin and piano repertoire concept that tells stories through pieces of contemporary music. This edition is dedicated to "gesture and timbre". Victor Kissine will give a sort introduction to his piece of the evening.
The concert will begin at 8.15 pm.
The concert is performed without intermission and is approximately one hour long. Free admission.
Realization: Le Forum des Compsiteurs, with the help of La Maison des Musiques et Conseil de la Musique
For more information on this, read here the announcement on the website of the Forum des Compositeurs.

[EN] “Sound Stories” is a concept in which the sounds (different, unconventional and those that are challenging the perception of “what is beautiful sound”) found in the pieces are associated with descriptive words that can lead the audible experience of understanding and following the story of the piece told. This edition of “Sound Stories” is going to emphasis on gestures used for producing the sound, gestures that produce timbres that we are not used to hearing from these instruments.
And yet, none of these gestures and techniques are used just for the sakes of “new” or “different” but rather masterfully crafted through art of composition and in the service of substantial content that creates aural world of power, sensitivity and beauty. Music that dazzles with both extremes: luminance and darkness.

[FR]"Sound Stories" nous conte l’histoire de ces “gestes” déployés par les deux musiciennes du concert pour produire des sons inouïs, impalpables, brillants ou subtils ; ces sons parfois tellement incroyables qu’ils nous font voyager hors de notre quotidienneté et de nos habitudes d’écoute. La narration sera donc au rendez-vous, sous la forme du récit magique de ces sons en mouvements, ceux-là mêmes qui nous offrent ainsi l’expérience unique du déplacement de notre écoute et de sa beauté sou-jacente.
Mais ces "Sound Stories" n’œuvrent pas que pour la nouveauté. Elles s’ouvrent aussi sur la dimznqion sensibile de notre temps et nous éblouissent par leurs expressions extrêmes situés métaphoriquement entre la lumière et les ténèbres.

•Victor Kissine - Caprice, pour violon et piano
[Caprice. The desire. To discover. New dawn.
_Caprice. Le désir. La découverte. Nouvelle aube.]

•George Crumb - Four Nocturnos (Night Music II), pour violon et piano
[The night begins. Silent initiation; to reveal new subtle tone colors.
_Initiation à la Nuit et au silence; pour dévoiler de subtiles couleurs sonores.]

•Helmut Lachenmann - Toccatina, pour violon
[Other delicate silences of the night. New paths of our listening. Time of thoughts.
_Autre silences délicats de nuit. Voies nouvelles de notre écoute. Temps des pensées.]

•Claude Ledoux - Courbes d'étoiles II, pour piano
[Time of reflection. The sparkling stars of the Night. Exploring the infinite Space (… of sounds).
_Temps de la réflexion. Étoiles brillantes de la Nuit. Explorer l'infini de l'Espace (… sonore). ]

•Claude Ledoux - Ajma ou le plasir du geste, pour violon
[The dawn of new thought. Movements of an Indian Goddess. Capricious sensuality.
_L'aube de nouvelles idées. Mouvement de déesse indienne. Sensualité capricieuse.]

•John Cage - Melodies No. I, III, IV (from the 6 Melodies), pour violon et piano
[Transformed thoughts. Melancholy in a simple rhythm.
_Pensées transformées. Mélancolie dans la simplicité des timbres.]

•Sofia Gubaidulina - Der Seiltänzer, pour violon et piano
[Intense emotion in the middle of the sounds. Take a risk. Be courageous. Go beyond.
_Retour de l'émotion intense, lovée au creux des gestes et des timbres. Aller au-delà.]

Back to Welcome page (Home)

Beside here, you can also visit (and follow updates) on Soundcloud.


dejana dejana dejana dejana
dejana  dejana



Please visit download section for obtaining "use-approved" photos.

"Tell me about... " - following the footsteps of thoughts of exceptional artists from Dejana Sekulic on Vimeo.

More details and information of this project are going to be published soon on: www.dejanasekulic.com

This video preview is an interlude and was a spark of inspiration for initiating and starting up artistic research.
The main concept of this artistic research (or rather artistic journey) is dealing, expressing and searching for new/extanded technique, technical expressions, contemporary music lines and meaning, thus broadening violin technique and repertoire. You will be able to follow updates and if you would like, you could also take part in some parts and performances of this project.

Follow also the video updates on vimeo.com channel: vimeo.com/dejana

Pick a project you would like to know more about by clicking on the title.
Please don't hesitate to send comments, thoughts, remarks, inquiries and/or any question you might have to contact [at] dejanasekulic.com
  • in_searchresearch

  • Bach_Ysaye

    Full description and information on this project will be soon updated.
  • LAPS Ensemble

  • Nigh Chronicles: Dreamsand Nightmares

    Creation in progress. More information coming soon.
  • PhD in One Night

  • art is my...

  • Trio Degradable

  • Duo_Ascic_Sekulic

  • deACT

  • People (Musicians, Composers, Artists, Colaborators..)

Coming Soon